If you were able to make the decision on your own, you likely would choose to not get auto insurance so you could save money or put it towards other things. However, in the state of Florida, you are required by law to have auto insurance that meets the state minimums. Even with knowing the state minimum requirements, is auto insurance really necessary? Continue reading to see why we think it is in Longwood, FL.
What are the State Minimums in Florida?
Florida does not have as strict of requirements as other states but there is still a set minimum. As a Florida driver, this is what you should have covered in your insurance policy:
- $10,000 of no-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
- $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) insurance.
What Can Happen If You Do Not Have The State Minimum?
In Florida, you could face some penalties and you do not have to even get pulled over for this to happen. The DHSMV will know if you do not have a record of auto insurance and will contact you to get the proof or they will fine you. In this state, you will get fined for not having auto insurance. For the first offense, it is $150. For a second offense, you will pay $250. For every offense after that, you will pay $500. These amounts can add up very quickly if you do not get the auto insurance in time. It is best to get auto insurance because in the long run, you will save money by paying for that instead of fines.
If you are ready to get an auto insurance policy that meets state requirements and your budget, be sure to contact our agents with Blanchard Insurance, serving Longwood, FL, today. we will be happy to run some quotes for you.